What’s love got to do with it?

1. What’s your opinion of love? Does it exist? Are you in love? How do you know?

This is my response to Mars Gone Mad’s post. Well, worth the read, in my opinion.

 
Thanks, Mars Gone Mad, for the invite to write in your comments section. I was disappointed when I scrolled down to see that no-one had in fact taken you up on your offer.
Okay, here goes! As you can see, I’ve decided to tell you a bit about what I think about love and if it exists or not and so on.
 
I guess that it all depends on what you define as love as to whether it exists or not. I seem to remember somewhere in the dark reaches of my mind that someone once said, if you can imagine it, it exists. Think of the most abhorrent act that you can conceive and I bet my bottom dollar that someone, somewhere has done it. Appalling as it might be, it exists. The world is a terrible place.
 
But before you turn away in disgust, let me just offer the idea that if we can imagine something despicable we can also imagine an incredibly passionate, tender, caring thing. Something that, to some people, might fall under the label of love.
 
In my opinion, the chances of meeting that soul mate who fulfils your very being; who gives you everything that you long for in a relationship; well it doesn’t happen! Well, not for me anyway, (so far)! I think that, “so far” is significant. There is always hope, isn’t there?
 
I do have a partner, a wife, a significant other and throughout my life I have had many. Yes, there have been many people to whom I felt happy to say, I love you. Not lying to them, not deceiving them in any way; but being in a relational state that is sufficiently agreeable to consider spending significant time in their company. After all, we love our children and we didn’t choose them. Time together kindles love in a couple. Arranged marriages sometimes work when both parties are willing to make the necessary concessions to have a relationship together.
 
Love, could be, should be beautiful, wonderful, all enveloping and unconditional. Yes, it does exist, but for very, very, very few people in the world. I have said, “I love you”, and meant it. How do you know if you are in love?—you don’t!—if it was that easy no one would be in LOVE!
 
4 thoughts on “What’s love got to do with it?”

  1. Thanks for your comment. I’m glad my last sentence was clear. You obviously understand what I meant. You, unconditional love demander, you. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. You’re amazing! Thanks for taking that very old post I wrote (which has some ugly grammatical errors – yikes I was a bad writer back then) and running with it.

    Like

Leave a Reply

