Childhood Revisited

What is your earliest memory? Describe it in detail, and tell us why you think that experience was the one to stick with you.

I was sitting outside in a sort of sunny corner of the house. The house was a bungalow but had extensions and out houses and was quite convoluted in its floor plan. I only had 4 or 5 years I think. It’s a warm day and the I imagine early Spring because I am playing with a fledgling sparrow trapped in the shrubbery.

I hear my mother calling me for lunch so I trapped my little playmate under a terracotta plant pot.

Lunch eaten and return to my waiting friend who I find dead!
Starved I think.

Why do I remember this? Because I was the one who… killed him.

Childhood Revisited

Leave a Reply

