Now You See Me

You have a secret superpower: the ability to appear and disappear at will. When and where will you use this new superpower? Tell us a story.

My fingers trembled as I turned the pages in the journal. The shock of what I had read made me feel weak and confused. I had known what to expect of course. Why else would I have slipped in here unnoticed and crept across the carpet to the bedside table on the otherside of the bed?

The draw wasn’t locked, although I was prepared for that eventuality had it been. But it wasn’t, so the knife stayed in my pocket and the draw slid open undamaged. It was so easy. There on top of odds and ends from years gone by, lay the journal. Its black plain cover revealing nothing of what was to be seen inside. An old concert ticket saved as a memory of happier times lay crumpled in the draw. A lipstick, long used up but still sweetly scented in it’s gold case had lost its cover and had bits of fluff sticking to the bright red traces remaining in the tube.

I looked once again at the heading written in a neat and precise hand. The blue ink heavy on the page.

“January 10th 2016”

Three days ago! My hands shook and the pages bounced as I dropped down to sit on the bed and the journal rested on my knees. My only wish. My only desire. Disappear.

 

Now You See Me

Leave a Reply

